Mayo make three changes for Meath showdown | PJ Wallace Cycles and Trophies | Clane | Co. Kildare | Bicycles & Trophies |
Saturday July 04, 2020

Mayo make three changes for Meath showdown

courtesy of RTE

James Horan has chopped and changed since last week's defeat

Mayo have made three changes to their team following the 10-point loss to Kerry in Killarney last week, though goalkeeper David Clarke retains his place in goal from Rob Hennelly.

Seamus O’Shea, Eoin O’Donoghue and Ciaran Treacy all come into the side with Chris Barrett, Kevin McLoughlin and James Carr making way.

O’Shea slots in at midfield with Aidan O’Shea advancing to the half-forward line in place of McLoughlin. O’Donoghue, from Belmullet, is a straight swap for Barrett, while Treacy is named at wing forward with Jason Doherty moving into the corner instead of the deposed Carr.

Mayo have not beaten Meath in summer since the 1951 All-Ireland final and defeat for James Horan’s side would likely hasten their exit from the championship.

Mayo: David Clarke; Stephen Coen, Brendan Harrison, Eoin O’Donoghue; Lee Keegan, Colm Boyle, Keith Higgins; Donal Vaughan, Seamus O’Shea; Fionn McDonagh, Aidan O’Shea, Ciaran Treacy; Cillian O’Connor, Darren Coen, Jason Doherty.

Jack Sherwood comes into the Kerry team for Sunday
James O’Donoghue is the notable absentee from the Kerry team named for their clash with Donegal on Sunday.

The Killarney Legion player is believed to have picked up an ankle injury during the comfortable 1-22 to 0-15 defeat of Mayo last Sunday, and Graham O’Sullivan is named in his place. The only other change sees Jack Sherwood come in for Shane Enright.

Kerry: Shane Ryan, Jason Foley, Tadhg Morley, Tom O’Sullivan; Paul Murphy, Gavin Crowley, Gavin White; David Moran, Jack Sherwood; Adrian Spillane, Sean O’Shea, Graham O’Sullivan; David Clifford, Paul Geaney, Stephen O’Brien.

Contact Details

Main Street,

Tel: 045 868936